All Upcoming Events

Pie&Vinyl and Honeymooner Presents… Breathe Panel

Monday, June 18 at 7:30 PM - 11 PM


The Loft, Albert road – OPEN DOOR, TURN LEFT – GO UPSTAIRS AT 7:30PM






Check the lovely promo potser designed by Nick from Breathe Panel…We’ll be selling some prints on the night

Breathe panel show 2018

Pie & Vinyl Presents are teaming up with top chums Honeymooner to bring the ace Breathe Panel to town following a sumptuous performance for us at this years Record Store Day shindig.

Forming in the basement of their shared Brighton abode early self releases caught the attention of FatCat Records – home of TRAAMSHoneybloodShopping – who are set to release their debut album on 13th July 2018.

Produced by go to sound wizard de jour MJ of Hookworms recent singles ‘Relax’ and ‘Carmine’ perfectly demonstrate this acts skill for balanced dichotomy – strident yet thoughtful, melancholic yet bright eyed, melodiously anthemic yet lyrically mysterious. They create an emotionally complex yet welcoming sound world which they invite the listener to get lost within.

‘Shimmering, jangly yet direct and urgent guitar melodies with motorik drum beats pushes their lo-fi sound into anthemic territory in effortless style’ – DIY

‘Shot through with colour but oddly downcast, there’s a resolutely English approach to the music, as if watching a beautiful landscape through sheets of rain’ – CLASH

Be sure to get down at doors to catch the excellent support we have pout together which comes from:

Fake Empire – Shoegaze inspired indie rock FFO New Order, Spaceman 3, The Cure

Ban Summers – Lo-fi beauty courtesy of the man behind The Boy I Used to Be and Show Home

SACHA – P&V Recordings artiste specialising in avant electro pop

Located above the Kings pub on Albert Road, Southsea our venue for the evening is The Loft which is strictly 18+ so please bring ID.

Tickets are £5 and can be bought in advance via or OTD subject to avaliability.

WILKO JOHNSON and Touring Band – Signing and greeting session at Pie&Vinyl

Come and meet the legendary WILKO JOHNSON at our house 3:00PM sharply on Wednesday 20th June

wilko photo (002)

Where?  – In store, at Pie&Vinyl…Yep Yep!.

When – Come and meet the legendary WILKO JOHNSON at our house 3:00PM sharply on Wednesday 20th June 

How much? – Free of course! But order the NEW album ‘BLOW YOUR MIND’ to be signed HERE  and get priority entry (Skip the queue and go first, no waiting around!)

Come and say ‘Pie’ to Wilko, as we welcome a true guitar legend into the shop. A man we admire greatly, and an amazing chance to meet the man up close.

Whilst you’re in the shop, get your hearty soul dinner as we’ll be selling a special pie tribute to WILKO, and chosen by the man himself.

Wilko will also be joined by members of his touring band for the signing, a very illustrious line up.

More on the new record below.

See you there!

Join our Facialbook event HERE

WILKO JOHNSON – BLOW YOUR MIND //Chess Records// (Released 15th June)

wilko bym



‘The album I never thought I’d get to write’ Wilko Johnson


I’m supposed to be dead!’ Canvey Island’s Dr Feelgood guitar legend Wilko Johnson was diagnosed in late 2012 with terminal pancreatic cancer. However, despite the doctors’ worst predictions, he continued to perform with a new lust for life and even made the most successful album of his career ‘Going Back Home’ with the legendary Roger Daltrey.

Following that album’s remarkable success he announced that thanks to a third opinion from a doctor moonlighting as a rock photographer and life-saving surgery, he was now cancer-free. With customary humour Wilko said of this late-career resurgence “Man, there’s nothing like being told you’re dying to make you feel alive”.

‘Blow Your Mind’ is Wilko’s first album of new material in 30 years, and is the sound of a man feeling very much alive.

Joining Wilko on the album are his long-standing band; Norman Watt Roy on bass and Dylan Howe on drums along with producer Dave Eringa who worked with them on the gold-selling album ‘Going Back Home’ with Roger Daltrey. Describing the record as ‘The album I never thought I’d get to write’ it deals with the trials and tribulations that he faced in the last five years, songs such as Marijuana and Take It Easy deal very directly with the terminal diagnosis he was given.

Speaking about the first sets of lyrics that he’d written in three decades Wilko says “It’s tricky when you get to seventy years old, because what am I supposed to be singing? “I love you, baby, but you done me wrong?” Come on! That’s kind of a problem. But I never thought that I’d be the sort of person to write songs about different sorts of real-life experiences until I got sick”.

Anyone expecting that Wilko’s particular brand of R&B to be softened by such heartfelt lyrics is in for a surprise, if anything his guitar style of ‘the chop’ as he calls it, is even more aggressive. The introspection of some of the tracks on the album is more than balanced out by the good time upbeat party feel of the title track, Beauty and I Love The Way You Do that have the urgency of Wilko’s earliest work with Dr Feelgood.

On going back into the studio after everything that he’d been through, Wilko has this to say about the 12 tracks that make up ‘Blow Your Mind’ I didn’t really intend to ever use them and, obviously, I didn’t know if I’d ever get back into the studio. One of those songs, that’s a reflection of that time, about sitting around the house at night knowing that death’s coming; we’ve recorded it, and it’ll be on the album. It’s actually quite a cheerful one, too!

Producer Dave Eringa puts it succinctly “I never expected to be making another Wilko Johnson album after Going Back Home but what a pleasure & a privilege it was to be able to capture Wilko’s first new songs for 30 years! He is one of music’s true gentleman – literate, intelligent, & articulate but still rock’n’roll as f***!”


  1. Beauty
  2. Blow Your Mind
  3. Marijuana
  4. Tell Me One More Thing
  5. That’s The Way I Love You 
  6. Low Down
  7. Take It Easy
  8. I Love The Way You Do
  9. It Don’t Have To Give You The Blues
  10. Lament
  11. Say Goodbye
  12. Slamming